Heineken Ireland
9
Lady’s Well Brewery, Leitrim Street Guided tours at 10am, 10.20am & 10.40am. Full wheelchair access
In 2026 HEINEKEN Ireland celebrates 170 of brewing history at Lady’s Well. The Brewery was founded on the site in 1856 by one of the city’s prominent merchant prince families, James J. Murphy who ran the company until his death in 1897. The Lady’s Well Brewery refers to a well on the site that supplied water to the brewery. By the mid-nineteenth century Cork had become an important centre for the brewing industry, much of which was for the local market and for export trade to the West Indies. Murphy’s beer, first brewed in May 1888, is a dry stout or porter. Porter, dark beer, was favoured by market porters of London, hence its name. In the late 19th century brewers began to produce stout, a stronger beer, which soon gained an important place in the market. In the late 1880s James J. Murphy & Co expanded and upgraded the brewery to give greater capacity and to take full advantage of improvements in brewing technology. In 1889 it became a limited liability company, £50,000 was raised through the issue of shares and this funded much of the new building costs. Amongst the new buildings was a spectacular malthouse, the building you still see today , where the barley was dried in kilns and stored. Murphy’s Brewery was taken over by HEINEKEN in 1983, which oversaw the relaunch of Murphy’s Irish Stout as a national and international brand. In 2009 the brewing of Beamish was moved here to Lady’s Well. Today, HEINEKEN Ireland is one of Ireland’s leading beer and cider companies, built on over 170 years of proud brewing heritage and they continue to excite their consumers and customers with innovative new products and premium brand experiences. Guided tour of Heineken Ireland at 10am, 10.20am and 10.40am. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie
22
Powered by FlippingBook