36 Blackrock Castle Observatory Castle Road, Blackrock Self-guided tour at 10am, 11am & 12pm. Partial wheelchair access
Blackrock Castle stands on a rocky limestone outcrop of the River Lee that has been fortified since the late 16th century. The original tower was built by the citizens of Cork in 1582 to protect the harbour from pirates and raiders and to guide ships safely into port, then a major centre of international trade. After the Battle of Kinsale in 1601, Lord-Deputy Mountjoy replaced it with a castle in 1604, partly to defend against external threats and partly to control Cork’s rebellious citizens. In 1608, control was returned to the city, and peat fires were lit atop the tower to act as a beacon for ships entering the harbour. The castle was destroyed by fire in 1722 and rebuilt by Cork’s citizens, later serving as a venue for civic banquets and as the seat of the Admiralty Court. Another fire in 1827 destroyed much of the structure, leading to its reconstruction in 1829. By the early 20th century it had fallen into disrepair, though it was later used as a meeting place, restaurant, offices, and even a private residence. In 2001, Cork Corporation purchased the castle and began major restoration work to preserve its historic character while modernising the structure. Completed in the mid-2000s, the restored castle became a scientific observatory with a robotic telescope installed in 2005, and in 2007 it opened to the public as an exhibition space developed by Munster Technological University. Visitors can enjoy a self-guided tour at 10am, 11am and 12pm of Blackrock Castle Observatory, taking in over 400 years of castle history while enjoying the panoramic views of Cork Harbour from the tower and lower roof. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie
53
Powered by FlippingBook