Cork Heritage Open Day Brochure 2026

Explore our amazing and unique built heritage CORK HERITAGE OPEN DAY Saturday August 15th, 2026

This is the 21st Anniversary of Cork Heritage Open Day. From small beginnings with just 30 participating buildings and 5,000 visitors, Cork Heritage Open Day was organised to mark the 2005 City of Culture programme of events. 21 Years later, Cork Heritage Open Day now features over 40 buildings, an extensive programme of events throughout the day and it reaches an audience of almost 23,000 people. Cork Heritage Open Day is organised by Cork City Council as part of Heritage Week in partnership with the Heritage Council and with media sponsorship from the Echo and C103. This event is organised almost entirely on a voluntary basis with building owners, local historians and communities giving their time free of charge. The success of the event lies with the people behind the buildings who open their doors willingly every year to allow the public a glimpse of the amazing and unique built heritage of Cork City. Without the generosity of the building owners, this event would not happen. corkheritageopenday.ie

1

Tá Lá Oscailte Oidhreachta Chorcaí ar an saol 21 bliain i mbliana. Ó thosach beag agus gan ach 30 foirgneamh rannpháirteach agus 5,000 cuairteoir, eagraíodh Lá Oscailte Oidhreachta Chorcaí le clár imeachtaí Chathair an Chultúir 2005 a mharcáil. Anois, 21 bliana ina dhiaidh sin, tá breis agus 40 foirgneamh rannpháirteach i Lá Oscailte Oidhreachta Chorcaí, le clár fairsing imeachtaí ar siúl i gcaitheamh an lae, agus beagnach 23,000 duine ag cur spéise ann. Is í Comhairle Cathrach Chorcaí a eagraíonn an imeacht mar chuid de Sheachtain na hOidhreachta i gcomhar leis an gComhairle Oidhreachta agus le hurraíocht na meán ó an Echo agus C103 Déantar an imeacht seo a eagrú go hiomlán beagnach ar bhonn deonach le húinéirí na bhfoirgneamh stairiúla, agus pobail áitiúla ag saothrú saor in aisce. Baineann an rath atá ar an imeacht leis na daoine ar leo na foirgnimh a osclaíonn a ndoirse dá ndeoin féin gach bliain le ceadú don phobal spléachadh ar fháil ar oidhreacht thógtha ar leithligh Chathair Chorcaí. Gan flaithiúlacht úinéirí na bhfoirgneamh seo, ní fhéadfaí an imeacht seo a chur ar siúl. corkheritageopenday.ie

2

10 Entry to all these buildings is free of charge. However, in the case of a few events due to space restrictions and increasing popularity you will be required to book your place in advance. You must present your ticket on the day as refused entry may cause offence. Ticketed events are marked with a ticket symbol “ ¶ ” on the brochure and booking details are available under the relevant building or event information section. This numbered coloured circle denotes the building number on the top of each page which corresponds to that building’s location on the map at the back of this brochure. Introduction Cork Heritage Open Day is a unique event which will be held on Saturday 15th of August, 2026 celebrating the amazing architecture and history of the Built Heritage in Cork City. The 2026 National Heritage Week theme is Heritage at Risk and it invites us to delve into the building blocks of our heritage; not just the structures, but the landscapes and cultural activities that have shaped us. This is celebrated throughout Cork Heritage Open Day and will see some of Cork’s most fascinating buildings from the Historic to the Military, the Civic to the Commercial and the Educational to the Sacred Spaces open their doors for one day only.

3

Contents Cork Heritage Open Day Events ........................ p6-11 Civic 1 City Hall......................................................................................................p13 2 Cork Public Museum...............................................................................p14 3 Civic Trust House.....................................................................................p15 4 Cork Circuit Courthouse.........................................................................p16 5 Cork City Library......................................................................................p17 6 Firemen’s Rest..........................................................................................p18 Commercial 7 AIB Bank.....................................................................................................p20 8 Cork Savings Bank...................................................................................p21 9 Heineken Ireland......................................................................................p22 10 The Metropole Hotel...............................................................................p23 11 Maldron Hotel Shandon.........................................................................p24 12 Blarney Woolen Mills...............................................................................p25 Cultural 13 Dance Cork Firkin Crane .......................................................................p27 14 Backwater Artist Group, Cork Printmakers, Lavit Gallery............p28 15 Nano Nagle Place.....................................................................................p29 16 National Sculpture Factory...................................................................p30 17 The Everyman ..........................................................................................p31 18 The Glucksman ........................................................................................p32 19 Triskel Christchurch ................................................................................p33 20 Cork Opera House...................................................................................p34 21 St Peter’s Cork .........................................................................................p35 22 Graffiti Theatre ........................................................................................p36 Military 23 L.E Samuel Beckett (Naval Vessel) ....................................................p38 24 Elizabeth Fort ..........................................................................................p39 25 Military Museum Collins Barracks........................................................p40 Sacred Spaces 26 Cork Baptist Church ...............................................................................p42 27 St. Anne’s Church Shandon...................................................................p43 28 St Fin Barre’s Cathedral ........................................................................p44 29 Quakers Meeting House and Graveyard ...........................................p45 30 St Luke’s Church, Douglas ....................................................................p46 31 St Michael’s Church, Blackrock.............................................................p47

4

Educational 32 Old Cork Waterworks Experience ......................................................p49 33 The North Monastery..............................................................................p50 34 YMCA .........................................................................................................p51 35 The Butter Museum.................................................................................p52 36 Blackrock Castle Observatory..............................................................p53 37 University College Cork .........................................................................p54 Historic 38 Masonic Hall .............................................................................................p56 39 Carpenters Hall.........................................................................................p57 40 Fota House and Victorian Working Gardens ...................................p58 41 Riverstown House....................................................................................p59 42 St Joesph’s Cemetery.............................................................................p60

Map ................................................................................................................... p65

53

Cork Heritage Open Day Events ALL EVENTS ARE FREE

Details of events which require pre-booking by the venue organisers are highlighted in red and are marked with a ticket symbol and include details of who to contact. ¶ Booking Essential Saturday 15 th August 2026

TITLE & Booking Details ¶ Guided tour of the Cork Opera House. Booking essential on www.corkoperahouse.ie ¶ Guided tour of Cork City Hall with Cllr. Kieran McCarthy. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie Guided heritage talk and tour on Blarney Woolen Mills. ¶ Self-guided tour of Blackrock Castle Observatory, taking in over 400 years of castle history. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie Visit the Naval Vessel LÉ Samuel Beckett. Guided tours of St Fin Barre's Cathedral. ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg. ¶ Guided tours of the historic Riverstown House. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie ¶ Guided tours of Heineken Ireland. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

TIME VENUE

Cork Opera House, Emmett Place. (page 34) Cork City Hall, Anglesea Street. (page 13) Meeting Point: The Thatched Cottage outside Blarney Woolen Mills. (page 25) Blackrock Castle Observatory, Castle Road. (page 53)

9am

10am

10am

10am, 11am & 12pm

Cork City Docks. (page 38)

10am to 12.30pm, 2pm to 5pm

St Fin Barre's Cathedral, Bishop Street. (page 44) Riverstown House, Riverstown, Cork. (page 59) Heineken Ireland (Murphy's Brewery) Leitrim Street. (page 22) AIB Bank, 66 South Mall. (page 20)

10am & 4pm

10am & 12pm

10am, 10.20am & 10.40am

¶ Guided tours of AIB Bank. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie

10am & 12pm in English, 11am in Irish

6

TITLE & Booking Details

TIME VENUE

¶ Guided tours of Cork Circuit Courthouse. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

Cork Circuit Courthouse, Washington Street. (page 16) The North Monastery, Our Lady's Mount, Ard Mhuire, Monastery Road. (page 50) Old Cork Waterwork's Experience, Lee Road. (page 49)

10.30am, 11.15am, 12pm, 12.45pm

‘Famous Faces of the Mon’, a talk by Shane Ryan.

11am

¶ Victorian Classroom Experience at the Old Cork Waterworks Experience. Booking essential on www.oldcorkwaterworks.ie ¶ Guided tour of St Joesph's Cemetery with Finbarr Barry. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie

11am to 1pm

St Joesph's Cemetry, Tory Top Road, Ballyphehane. (page 60)

11am

Medieval Day in the Cork Public Museum.

Cork Public Museum, Fitzgerald Park. (page 14) Military Museum Collins Barracks, Old Youghal Road. (page 40) Elizabeth Fort, Barrack's Street. (page 39) Carpenters Hall, Fr Mathew Quay. (page 57) The Metropole Hotel, MacCurtain Street. (page 23) St Michael's Church, Church Road, Dundanion,

11am to 4pm

A talk on the history of Collins Barracks, 1801 to present. ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg. ¶ Guided tours of Elizabeth Fort. Booking essential on www. elizabethfort.ie A talk on the Secret Masons Language and their history.

11am

11am, 1pm & 3pm

11am

¶ Guided tours of the historic Metropole Hotel. Booking essential on www.themetropolehotel.ie

11am & 1pm

Guided tour of St Michael's Church in Blackrock.

11am

Blackrock. (page 47)

A talk by Ger O Mahony from Cork Mother Jones Committee about Mary Harris, the Cork girl who became the most dangerous woman in America. There will be a screening of the Documentary 'Mother Jones and her Children' by Framework Films prior to the talk.

Maldron Hotel Shandon, John Redmond Street. (page 24)

11am

7

TITLE & Booking Details

TIME VENUE

‘Hugenot Links with Cork’, an illustrated talk by Dr. Alicia St. Leger on the Hugenot connection with Cork. Visit Civic Trust House and listen to audio theatre offering which brings to life some of the past occupants of the house. ¶ Guided tours of Dance Cork Firkin Crane. Booking essential on www.dancecorkfirkincrane.ie ¶ Guided tour of the former Cork Savings Bank with JCA Architect Gareth O'Callaghan. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie Meet local Quakers and learn about the Quaker Meeting House and 17th century burial ground. Highlights from the Presentation Sisters Congregational Archives, 12pm to 4pm. A unique opportunity to explore a selection of historical artefacts that shine a light on the history of Nano Nagle Place and the Presentation Sisters. 'Growing our own, the sustainable history of Cork’s gardening culture' Heritage and Biodiversity Exhibition Launch. A talk on three centuries of freemasonry in Munster (1726 to 2026). ¶ Curatorial Tour of Selected Works: UCC Art Collection with Meadhbh Healy, Curator of Collections and

Cork City Library, Grand Parade. (page 17)

11am

Civic Trust House, Pope's Quay. (page 15)

11am

Dance Cork Firkin Crane, Shandon. (page 27) Cork Savings Bank, 1 Lapps Quay. (page 21) Quaker Meeting House, Summer Hill South. (page 45) Nano Nagle Place, Douglas Street. (page 29)

11.30am, 12.30pm & 1.30pm

12pm

12pm to 4pm

12pm to 4pm

Cork City Library, Grand Parade. (page 17)

12pm

Masonic Hall, Tuckey Street. (page 56) The Glucksman, UCC. (page 32)

12pm

12pm

Public Engagement. Booking essential on 021 4901844/ education@glucksman.org

Butter making demonstrations in the Butter Museum.

The Butter Museum, O'Connell Square,

12pm & 2pm

Shandon. (page 52)

¶ ‘Heritage and The Big Bang of Storytelling' a talk by the Civic Trust House Artist-in-Residence, Cónal Creedon. Booking essential on bit.ly/HeritageBigBang

Civic Trust House, Pope's Quay (page 15)

12pm

8

TITLE & Booking Details

TIME VENUE

Guided tours of the YMCA.

YMCA, Malboro Street. (page 51)

12pm to 3pm

¶ Guided tours of Fota House. Booking essential on https:// bookings.fotahouse.com using the code CHOD261 ¶ A walk Through Cork City's Geological History with Thomas Heising. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie Enjoy a UCC Treasures Tour through the rich history of University College Cork.

Fota House, Fota Island, Carrigtohill. (page 58)

12pm & 2pm

Meeting Point: Cork City Hall, Anglesea Street side opposite the District Court. (page 13) Visitors Centre, UCC, College Road. (page 54) National Sculpture Factory, Albert Road. (page 30) Military Museum, Collins Barracks, Old Youghal Road, Outside the Fire Station, Anglesea Street. (page 18) Graffiti Theatre, Assumption Road, The Glen. (page 40) Backwater Artists Group, Backwater Studio, Wandesford Quay. (page 28) Cork Baptist Church, MacCurtain Street. (page 42) Fota House, Fota Island, Carrigtohill. (page 58) Blackpool. (page 36)

12pm

12pm

Guided tours of the National Sculpture Factory.

12pm to 3pm

A talk on the Victoria Barracks, 1913 to 1922, Michael Collins and Conflict in Cork.

12.30pm

Kevin Higgins, Third Fire Officer with the Cork Fire Brigade will give a talk on the history of the Firemen’s Rest. ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg. ¶ Architect Paul Hudson will give a guided tour 'From Convent to Creative Centre, a walk through the history of the Assumption Convent and Graffiti Theatre Company'. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie ¶ Backwater Artists Group, Cork Printmakers and Lavit Gallery guided tours. Booking essential on Cork Printmakers Eventbrite Page.

1pm

1pm

1pm & 2pm

Learn about the history of the Baptist Church in Cork.

1pm to 5pm

¶ Guided tour of the Victorian Working Gardens. Booking essential on https://bookings.fotahouse.com using the code CHOD261

1pm

9

TITLE & Booking Details

TIME VENUE

'FOC: Order, Counterorder and Disorder: The Cork Brigade of Irish Volunteers and the 1916 Rising', a talk by historian Gerry White. ‘Cork’s Athenaeum: A Burnt Legacy’, a talk by Pat Duggan on Cork’s Athenaeum (the old Cork Opera House) which was destroyed by fire in December 1955. ¶ Tour of the Lord Mayor's Office and Council Chamber in Irish with Cllr. Joe Lynch. Turas timpeall Oifig an Ardmhéara and Seomra na Comhairle. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie ¶ Antoin O'Callaghan will give a walking guided tour 'Churches, Chapels and Congregations; An Exploration of some of Cork's

St Peter's Cork, North Main Street. (page 35)

1pm

Cork City Library, Grand Parade. (page 17)

1.30pm

Cork City Hall, Anglesea Street. (page 13)

2pm

Meeting Point: Coliseum Corner at the end of MacCurtain Street.

2pm

Historic Places of Worship' Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie

A concert will take place inside St Fin Barre’s Cathedral featuring the Icelandic Choir Staka.

St Fin Barre's Cathedral, Bishop Street. (page 44) Meeting Point: Shandon Footbridge, opposite MYO Café. (page 43)

2pm

Stones and Stories: The Shandon Plaque trail and heritage walk. Join the Shandon Area History Group and Tadhg McCarthy of SARA as they explore the rich history of the Shandon area. Tadhg McCarthy will present an audio tour with some additional historical information by the history group. A booklet will be provided on the day. Gunpowdermill talk and walk with Tadhg O'Connor. ¶ Liam O'hÚigín will give a guided walking tour around the Old City Walls. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie A talk by Dagmar Ó Riain-Raedel on 'Changing the face of Cork: the architectural legacy of the Hill dynasty'. ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg.

2pm

Meeting Point: Biodiversity Hub at the GAA entrance to the Ballincollig Regional Park. Meeting Point: St Peter's Church, North Main Street. The Metropole Hotel, MacCurtain Street. (page 23)

2pm

2.30pm

3pm

10

TITLE & Booking Details

TIME VENUE

¶ Capwell 100, a walking tour with Cllr. Dan Boyle. In 1926 tenders were requested, part funded by reparation payments made by the British government as compensation for the Burning of Cork, for the first major social housing in Cork City after the establishment of the Irish Free State. This walk explains how this came about and its importance in Cork's development of the city. Booking essential on www. corkheritageopenday.ie Guided tour of Triskel Christchurch. ¶ Genealogist David Ryan will give a talk on 'Researching The South Parish in Irish Census Records'. With the recent release of the 1926 Irish census, this talk will take a deep dive into the surviving Irish census records and how they can be used for finding your ancestors in the South Parish. Booking essential on https://explore. nanonagleplace.ie/tickets/#events Guided tour of St Luke's Church in Douglas. ¶ A Walking Tour of Cork's Ordnance Survey Benchmarks. Join Felix Meehan and Kieran Murphy and learn about the history of these hidden gems of Cork's built heritage landscape. Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie ¶ Behind the Scenes tour of the Everyman. Booking essential on www.everymancork.com

Meeting Point: High Steet/Capwell Road Junction.

3pm

Triskel Christchurch, South Main Street. (page 33) Nano Nagle Place, Douglas Street. (page 29)

3pm

3pm

St Luke's Church, Churchyard Lane, Douglas. (page 46) Meeting Point: Outside Falvey's pharmacy at the corner of Coburg Street and Bridge Street.

3pm

4pm

The Everyman, MacCurtain Street. (page 31)

6pm

11

Civic Buildings Buildings City Hall

p13

Cork Public Museum

p14

Civic Trust House

p15

Cork Circuit Courthouse

p16

Cork City Library

p17

Firemen’s Rest

p18

12

City Hall

1

Anglesea Street Guided tour at 10am in English. Guided tour at 2pm in Irish. Full wheelchair access

City Hall is one of the most splendid buildings of Cork. The current structure, replaced the old City Hall, which was destroyed in the burning of Cork, in 1920. It was designed by Architects Jones and Kelly and built by Cork Company Sisk. The foundation stone was laid by Éamonn de Valera, President of the Executive Council of the State on 9th July, 1932. The first meeting of the Council was held on the 24th April, 1935 and the building was formerly opened by Éamonn de Valera on the 8th September, 1936. The building is designed on classic lines to harmonise with the examples of eighteenth and nineteenth century architecture, fundamentally Georgian in character, that so richly endow Cork City. The main entrance to the offices is from Anglesea Street, through a marble paved vestibule to the main staircase hall. The City Hall contains works by Séamus Murphy, R.H.A., including busts of Lord Mayors Tomás MacCurtain and Terence MacSwiney, and a profile of the late US President John F. Kennedy erected over the main entrance door commemorating his visit to Cork in 1963. Discover the beauty and architecture of Cork City Hall on a guided tour at 10am with Cllr. Kieran McCarthy. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie Tour of the Lord Mayor’s Office and Council Chamber in Irish at 2pm with Cllr. Joe Lynch. Turas timpeall Oifig an Ardmhéara agus Seomra na Comhairle. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

13

2 Cork Public Museum Fitzgerald Park Open 11am to 4pm. Partial wheelchair access The Cork Public Museum is located in Fitzgerald Park on Mardyke Walk along the City’s western corridor. The museum was originally a private residence built by Charles Beamish in 1845 on land purchased from the Duke of Devonshire. Following the completion of the house the grounds (now Fitzgerald Park) were laid out with a fantastic variety of shrubs and trees. In 1886 the house became the home of the Bons Secours Sisters. During the later 19th century it became a private residence for Mr. Barry J. Sheehan (1880) and Mr. Cornelius Desmond (1897) respectively. It was sold in 1901 to the Incorporated Cork International Association. During the Exhibition of 1902/03 the Committee used the house for visiting dignitaries who included King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra. Having been handed over to the Corporation for the people of Cork the house became a museum in 1910. Following a Historical Exhibition in 1942 the building was reopened to the public in 1945. It was administered by UCC until 1963 and since then directly by the City Council. Medieval Day at Cork Public Museum This free, family-friendly event invites you to discover medieval life through a series of different themed stations located throughout the museum, each exploring unique aspects of the period. Visitors can enjoy a self-guided experience, wandering at their own pace while engaging with objects, stories, and costumes that bring the past to life.

14

3 Civic Trust House 50 Pope’s Quay Open 11am to 1pm. Full wheelchair access Civic Trust House is an exceptional example of an early Georgian house that was restored by Cork Civic Trust in the late 20th century and is now home to a busy group of arts organisations since 2006. Please note that tours of the house are not possible, but you are very welcome to come in and admire the fine panelling and stucco work in the hallway and visit the attractive meeting room where Cónal Creedon’s talk will take place. A leaflet on the building’s architecture is available and Building Manager Nicki ffrench Davis will be on hand to answer questions. 11am to 12pm Voices From Pope’s Quay Audio Theatre Learning. No booking required. Visit the house and listen to an audio theatre offering which brings to life some of the past occupants of the house through 13 monologues recorded in 2025. A blend of fact and fiction, it was created by Strive Theatre as part of a Heritage Council supported project. The entire set of monologues is just under 30 minutes long and will be played twice through - from Joseph Lavitt’s 1721 shipwrecked letter home from Norway, through to the early Twentieth century members of the Ryan family. 12pm to 1pm Heritage and The Big Bang of Storytelling - a talk by the Civic Trust House Artist-in-Residence, Cónal Creedon A journey to discover the earliest trace of storytelling DNA, interlaced with an exploration of Cork as a sense of place. Cónal’s many admirers will know already that he is always engaging, entertaining and erudite with a unique understanding of his hometown and this area of the city in particular. ¶ Booking essential on bit.ly/HeritageBigBang

15

Cork Circuit

4

Courthouse Washington Street Tours at 10.30am, 11.15am, 12pm & 12.45pm. Full wheelchair access

The first courthouse on the Washington St site was built in 1836. It is believed that this original Courthouse was designed by the brothers George Richard and James Pain. This building was destroyed by fire on Good Friday, March 27th, 1891 and with it much of the City’s official records which were stored in the City Treasure and Sheriff’s office. All that remained was the portico and facade on Washington Street. The present courthouse is a Neo-Classical courthouse with Corinthian detail. It was rebuilt in 1895 by William Hill architect and Samuel Hill building contractor. It was originally designed with an open courtyard to its centre in which the bar room was located, providing the barristers immediate access to the two main courtrooms. The building has remained largely unaltered since that time until April 2003 when the current refurbishment began. The project took 20 months to complete at a total cost of €26 million and was re-opened in 2005. Wherever possible the original architecture of the building has been retained and carefully restored. This includes the courtroom furniture, upholstery, fireplaces and decorative plaster. The highlight of this building is the skyline dome which has been completely restored, re-fenestrated and reclad externally in copper. This building is considered to be one of the best examples of Neo- Classical public architecture in Ireland and one of the most important buildings in the city both from an architectural and social history perspective.

Guided tours at 10.30am, 11.15am, 12pm & 12.45pm. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

16

5 Cork City Library Grand Parade

Open 10am to 5.30pm. Partial wheelchair access

Cork City Library is currently celebrating 130 years of service to the citizens of the city. Cork was the first Irish city to adopt the Public Libraries (Ireland) Act, 1855, but it was not until 1892 that Cork Corporation established a public library, in what is now the Crawford Municipal Gallery. In 1905, the Library moved to a new building in Anglesea Street designed by architect Henry A. Cutler. Funded by Scottish-American philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, the site was provided by the Corporation on Anglesea Street, adjoining City Hall. This library, along with many other city-centre buildings, was destroyed by arson attacks on the night of 10/11 December 1920 by British armed forces. The city was without a public lending library for almost four years, until a lending service was restored in temporary premises in no. 2 Tuckey Street, in September 1924. A new purpose-built library was constructed with a façade in the Hiberno-Romanesque style at no. 57 Grand Parade and was opened to the public in September 1930. ‘Hugenot Links with Cork’, an illustrated talk by Dr. Alicia St. Leger on the Hugenot connection with Cork. 11am. Heritage and Biodiversity Exhibition Launch ‘Growing our own, the sustainable history of Cork’s gardening culture’ 12pm. Cork’s Athenaeum: A Burnt Legacy, a talk by Pat Duggan on Cork’s Athenaeum (the old Cork Opera House) which was destroyed by fire in December 1955. 1.30pm. No booking required for the talks and launch.

17

6 Firemen’s Rest Outside the Fire Station, Anglesea Street Talk at 1pm. Full wheelchair access

The Firemen’s Rest is the smallest structure in the Cork Heritage Open Day programme. It was commissioned by Cork Corporation (Cork City Council) in early 1892 and has borne witness to all of the historic occasions in Cork city, in particular, the burning of Cork in 1920 and every subsequent celebration and crisis of the city over the years. It was originally assembled for the Cork Fire Brigade, shared by them with the staff of the old tram company (1898-1930) and later, exclusively used by CIE (Bus Eireann) (1931- 2003). On Monday the 9th of May 1892, the Firemen’s Rest began its life as a shelter for firefighters on duty at night. This modest shelter, known as the ‘Firemen’s Rest’ (the name is emblazoned along its roof on an iron scroll) was made by the famous ‘Saracen’ ironworks of Walter MacFarlane and Co., Glasgow, Scotland, who was also responsible for manufacturing the exquisite ironwork of King Mongkut’s Grand Palace in Thailand featured in the film “The King and I”. The Firemen’s Rest’s unique heritage value lies in the fact that it is a very early example of the prefabricated building concept which is now commonly used in modern construction. It was also revolutionary in 1892 for another reason as it was one of first buildings in Cork to have a telephone. The Firemen’s Rest has had many locations and was originally situated at the junction of Grand Parade/Great George’s Street (now Washington Street). In 1894 it was moved to Lavitt’s Quay, across from the Opera House, and, finally, in 1904, it was relocated adjacent to the Fr. Mathew Statue at the northern end of St. Patrick’s Street where it stayed until 2002. Beginning in 2020, the Firemen’s Rest was meticulously restored in commemoration of the burning of Cork (December 1920) under Cork City Council’s Decade of Centenaries Programme and is now a fitting tribute to generations of Firefighters who protect and serve the city so well. This building is available to view all day long but due to its size the inside will not be accessible but can be viewed through the windows! Further information is available on: https://digital.corkpastandpresent.com Kevin Higgins, Third Fire Officer with the Cork Fire Brigade will give a talk on the history of the Firemen’s Rest at 1pm. No booking required. ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg.

18

Commercial Buildings AIB Bank p20 Cork Savings Bank p21 Heineken Ireland p22 The Metropole Hotel p23 Maldron Hotel Shandon p24 Blarney Woolen Mills p25

19

AIB Bank

7

66 South Mall Tour at 10am, 11am and 12pm. Full wheelchair access

Number 66 had been home to the Munster Bank since 1867. The Munster & Leinster Bank was founded in 1885 and started to operate with 66 South Mall as its headquarters. By 1908 it became necessary to establish an office to meet the growing demands of Cork’s merchant and business community. In 1910 when Arthur Hill, a local Architect, won the competition to design the new Head Office of the Munster & Leinster Bank, the building was a terrace of four separate premises. Opened in 1915, the protected building you see today stands as one of the most impressive Edwardian banking halls in Ireland. Built by John Sisk & Son, the black and white chequered floor, marbled pillars and glazed dome are evidence of the elegant features of architecture at the start of the last century. War, revolutions, economic crashes and recoveries and many generations have come and gone. Between these walls, business and money matters have been discussed for over 100 years. All the saving, borrowing, lodging and withdrawing has helped keep this community moving. AIB 66 South Mall, looks forward to opening its doors for Cork Heritage Open Day. All visitors are most welcome to visit this iconic building, including a look into the old Boardroom that was used for many Munster & Leinster Directors meetings from 1915 until the formation of AIB in the late 1960’s. Guided tour of AIB Bank in English at 10am & 12pm. Guided tour of AIB Bank in Irish at 11am. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

20

Cork Savings Bank

8

1 Lapp’s Quay Tour at 12pm. Full wheelchair access

The Cork Savings Bank was established in 1817 following the passing of a law to encourage the establishment of savings banks across England and Ireland. Savings Banks targeted the lower income groups of society with the aim of encouraging thrift amongst these users, offering security for their savings whilst paying a fixed interest on deposits. In November of 1839 the design submitted by the architectural practice of Thomas and Kearns Deane was chosen for the new Cork Savings Bank, to be located on the corner of Lapp’s Quay and Warren’s Place (now Parnell Place) The building was opened for business in 1842 and a plaque above the doorway to the banking hall commemorates the date and those responsible for designing and building the bank. It continued to operate as a bank until 2012, when owners, Trustee Savings Bank, closed a number of branches, including Lapps Quay. In 2015, UCC made a decision to locate their Centre for Executive Education in a dynamic, city centre location, and entered into an agreement with Cork City Council to re-use the former Savings Bank on Lapp’s Quay for this purpose. To facilitate this refurbishment and reuse of the Savings Bank a new extension was constructed within the enclosed yard to the east. The new extension enables direct circulation across the upper floors of the former secretary’s house on Parnell Place to the southern rooms of the Bank. The new accommodation is hidden from view from the exterior of the landmark historic building, but is designed to read clearly as a modern addition from within the building. JCA Architect Gareth O’Callaghan will give a guided tour of the Cork Savings Bank at 12pm. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

21

Heineken Ireland

9

Lady’s Well Brewery, Leitrim Street Guided tours at 10am, 10.20am & 10.40am. Full wheelchair access

In 2026 HEINEKEN Ireland celebrates 170 of brewing history at Lady’s Well. The Brewery was founded on the site in 1856 by one of the city’s prominent merchant prince families, James J. Murphy who ran the company until his death in 1897. The Lady’s Well Brewery refers to a well on the site that supplied water to the brewery. By the mid-nineteenth century Cork had become an important centre for the brewing industry, much of which was for the local market and for export trade to the West Indies. Murphy’s beer, first brewed in May 1888, is a dry stout or porter. Porter, dark beer, was favoured by market porters of London, hence its name. In the late 19th century brewers began to produce stout, a stronger beer, which soon gained an important place in the market. In the late 1880s James J. Murphy & Co expanded and upgraded the brewery to give greater capacity and to take full advantage of improvements in brewing technology. In 1889 it became a limited liability company, £50,000 was raised through the issue of shares and this funded much of the new building costs. Amongst the new buildings was a spectacular malthouse, the building you still see today , where the barley was dried in kilns and stored. Murphy’s Brewery was taken over by HEINEKEN in 1983, which oversaw the relaunch of Murphy’s Irish Stout as a national and international brand. In 2009 the brewing of Beamish was moved here to Lady’s Well. Today, HEINEKEN Ireland is one of Ireland’s leading beer and cider companies, built on over 170 years of proud brewing heritage and they continue to excite their consumers and customers with innovative new products and premium brand experiences. Guided tour of Heineken Ireland at 10am, 10.20am and 10.40am. ¶ Booking essential on www.corkheritageopenday.ie

22

The Metropole

10

Hotel Cork MacCurtain Street Guided tours at 11am & 1pm. Talk at 3pm. Partial wheelchair access

Vintage Splendor: Unveiling The Metropole’s Hidden Gems. Embark on an extraordinary tour through time. Enjoy a tour at the 126 year old Metropole Hotel and prepare to be whisked away on a journey drenched in glamour and grandeur as knowledgeable guides lead you through the illustrious corridors where famous guests once walked. Indulge your senses in the resplendent Victorian architecture as charismatic storytellers unfurl the rich tapestry of The Metropole’s unique history. Discover the legends and lore of illustrious figures who once graced these hallowed halls, from silver screen legends to influential luminaries, each name etched in history is but a chapter in The Metropole’s captivating narrative. The grand historical tour at The Metropole Hotel promises a unique glimpse into Cork’s fantastical history, from wars and fires to sweet shops and film stars, prepare to lose yourself in the tantalizing narratives that illuminate Cork’s cultural heritage.

Guided tour of the Metropole Hotel at 11am and 1pm. ¶ Booking essential on www.themetropolehotel.ie

A talk by Dagmar Ó Riain-Raedel ‘Changing the face of Cork: the architectural legacy of the Hill dynasty’ at 3pm. The talk will be ISL Interpreted by Brenda Quigg. No booking required.

23

Maldron Hotel

11

Shandon John Redmond Street Talk at 11am. Full wheelchair access

The Maldron Hotel Cork is situated in the shadow of the famous Shandon Bells. The modern hotel combines its rich heritage with all the conveniences expected by today’s corporate and leisure guest. However, in 1720 it was known as something completely different, The North Infirmary Hospital, the first general hospital to be opened in Cork. Originally it had accommodation for 24 patients and was 70 feet long by 24 feet wide. It mainly provided basic medical services to the poor people in the city, with the majority of patients being Catholic. In the early 1980’s there were talks about the hospital’s future. There was mounting speculation that several hospitals were to close and there was disbelief when it was discovered that the North Infirmary was among them. At precisely 4.46pm on the 26th November 1987, the North Infirmary passed into the realms of memory. As the nearby Butter Exchange Band and Shandon Bells played a duet of ‘Auld Lang Syne’ 2,000 people, each with a lighting candle, looked on as the lights were slowly switched off from the top to the ground floor A talk by Ger O Mahony from the Cork Mother Jones Committee about Mary Harris, the Cork girl who became ‘the most dangerous woman in America’ will take place at 11am. There will be a screening of the Documentary by Framework Films ‘Mother Jones and her children’ prior to the talk. No booking required.

24

Blarney Woolen

12

Mills Blarney

Talk and tour at 10am Full wheelchair access

The story of Blarney Woollen Mills is deeply connected to Cork’s long textile history. In the eighteenth century, Cork had a strong textile trade, supported by its natural harbour. In 1750, Timothy Mahony established his first woollen mill on the banks of the River Glashaboy in Glanmire. The business passed through the family, and in 1823, his grandson, Martin Mahony, opened a larger mill in Blarney. This became Martin Mahony & Brothers, later known as Blarney Woollen Mills. Set on the banks of the River Martin, close to Blarney Castle, the mill became an important part of local life. The Mahony family built a large dam and mill pond to drive the mill wheel. Local farmers sold wool to the mill, where it was dyed, spun into yarn, and woven into cloth. By 1835, the mill employed 120 local people, rising to 200 by 1860. The Mahony family also built Millstream Row for workers, and these houses can still be seen today. In 1869, a major fire destroyed much of the mill. The people of Blarney helped clear the site, and the buildings were rebuilt using local sandstone. Christy Kelleher began working at the mill in 1928, aged fourteen. Decades later, he opened Blarney Handcrafts in a small thatched cottage on wheels, selling Aran sweaters, woollen shawls, yarns, and Irish gifts. Local women also hand-knitted Aran sweaters from mill yarn, supporting families in the area. After the mill closed in 1973, Christy bought Blarney Woollen Mills in 1975 and removed the large front gates, opening the mill to all. Today, the Blarney Aran Experience continues this textile story within the historic mill. Guided heritage talk and tour at 10am, starting at the Thatched Cottage. History booklets available on the day. No booking required.

25

Cultural Buildings Dance Cork Firkin Crane Backwater Artist Group, Cork Printmakers, Lavit Gallery

p27

p28

Nano Nagle Place

p29

National Sculpture Factory

p30

The Everyman

p31

The Glucksman

p32

Triskel Christchurch

p33

Cork Opera House

p34

St Peter’s Cork

p35

Graffiti Theatre

p36

26

Dance Cork

13

Firkin Crane John Redmond Street, Shandon Guided tours at 11.30am, 12.30pm & 1.30pm. Partial wheelchair access

Dance Cork Firkin Crane is located at the foot of the Shandon Bells, in Cork’s North City Centre. This heritage building, which was part of the Butter Market, was opened in 1855. “Firkin” is a Danish word meaning quarter barrel, the firkins, or casks, were weighed on a balance known as a “Crane”, hence the building’s unusual name. After the Butter Market closed in 1924, the building was deserted for many decades. It was put up for sale in 1979, and Joan Denise Moriarty, then Director of the Irish National Ballet, successfully applied to the Arts Council to have the building bought and refurbished as a home for her Cork-based professional dance company. This unique building was opened by then Taoiseach Albert Reynolds in April 1992, preserving a building of architectural interest in one of the most historic areas of Cork City. In 2005, the organisation changed its name to the Institute of Choreography and Dance (ICD). The organisation began to offer residencies of many kinds, professional dance classes and workshops, and began commissioning, co-producing and presenting new dance works. Now renamed Dance Cork Firkin Crane, we are proud of our history as Ireland’s first dance house. We continue to build on that tradition as a presenting partner of the European Aerowaves network, inaugurating our Take Off Festival in February 2023. We remain an organisation dedicated to dance and to serving Cork and Ireland’s growing contemporary dance community. Guided tours of Dance Cork Firkin Crane will take place at 11.30am, 12.30pm & 1.30pm. ¶ Booking essential on www.dancecorkfirkincrane.ie

27

14 Backwater Artists Group, Cork Printmakers and Lavit Gallery Wandesford Quay Guided tour at 1pm and 2pm. Partial wheelchair access Backwater Artists Group, Cork Printmakers and Lavit Gallery will open for two tours on Cork Heritage Open Day. Each tour is divided in three parts. You will be led by a representative from each of the organisations who now occupy the building. You will delve into the history of the building as part of Cork’s heritage story and learn about how the building has been adapted to become a home to Backwater Artists Group, Cork Printmakers and Lavit Gallery. Guided tours of the Backwater Artist Group, Cork Printmakers and Lavitt Gallery at 1pm & 2pm. ¶ Book via Cork Printmakers Eventbrite Page.

28

15 Nano Nagle Place Douglas Street Open 10am to 5pm. Full wheelchair access The unexpected urban oasis at Nano Nagle Place dates from the 18th century. Here Nano Nagle founded her first schools and built convents for both the Ursuline and her own Presentation Sisters. During this period the gardens were laid out, along with the sisters’ graveyard where Nano is buried. All have been carefully conserved and imaginatively augmented in recent years to create Nano Nagle Place. The oldest remaining building is the convent that Nano Nagle built for the Ursuline Sisters in 1771. The Ursuline sisters thrived here, adding various extensions to the original building. When the Ursulines moved to Blackrock in 1825 their buildings passed to the Presentation Sisters, who added school buildings and a lovely Gothic chapel to the site. Nano Nagle Place is not only a heritage attraction and a beautiful sacred space, it also houses charities that continue Nano’s work. Indeed, education continues across the site - we are delighted to have Cork Centre for Architectural Education in our heritage lecture theatre Highlights from the Presentation Sisters Congregational Archives, 12pm to 4pm. See www.nanonagleplace.ie A talk by Genealogist David Ryan on ‘Researching The South Parish in Irish Census Records’ will take place at 3pm. ¶ Booking essential on https://explore.nanonagleplace.ie/ tickets/#events

29

16 National Sculpture Factory

Albert Road, Ballintemple Guided tours at 12pm to 3pm. Partial wheelchair access

Cork Heritage Open Day is a wonderful celebration of Cork’s built heritage. In its 21st year, Cork Heritage Open Day provides the exciting opportunity to meet some artists, & see where they work within this unique artists’ work place. National Sculpture Factory (NSF) was set up 37 years ago & is a thriving artists’ resource for many creative projects. An important facility locally, nationally & internationally, NSF is a strategically funded resource for artists, with the Arts Council of Ireland and Cork City Council as primary funders. NSF building, which used to house the trams of Cork City, is a beautiful red brick heritage building which enables large scale sculpture to be fabricated – what the citizen sees in the public realm of scale and ambition can be made in NSF under the high roof of the former tram warehouse. The legacy of Cork’s built heritage continues to be enjoyed and critical for creating Cork’s cultural heritage. National Sculpture Factory are delighted to invite you to visit NSF facilities and meet its artists. See how the art works you know comes into being and learn more about the creative process directly from the source. Guided Tours of the National Sculpture Factory will take place every hour starting at 12pm through 3pm (last tour 3pm). No booking required.

30

The Everyman

17

15 MacCurtain Street Guided tour at 6pm. Partial wheelchair access

The Everyman was designed by Mr. H. Brunton and built c.1840 by Mr. John O’Connell. Located on the street front of MacCurtain St this terraced two-bay three-storey was originally built as a house, which was part of a group with the adjoining houses to the east and west. In 1897 Dan Lowrey opened the building as a luxurious new theatre called The Cork Palace of Varieties. Its origins as a beautiful Victorian theatre are reflected in the interior of the building with its impressive ornate proscenium arch and boxes and a balcony and ceiling composed of decorative plasterwork, which has been restored to its former glory. During the heyday of music hall theatre 1897 - 1912 no expense was spared in securing the best talent available at the time. Artists such as Charlie Chaplin, George Formby and Laurel and Hardy to name a few performed during this time. With the arrival of the “talkies” the Palace became a cinema in 1930 and remained so until 1988. The venue reopened as a Theatre in 1990 when it was purchased by the Everyman Theatre Company. The names of the venue and the theatre company were combined to form the Everyman Palace Theatre, but it is now known simply as “The Everyman”. The Everyman is now one of the busiest presenting and producing theatres in Ireland. It incorporates a diverse and eclectic programme of world class theatre, dance, music, visual arts, family entertainment and variety shows.

Behind the Scenes Tour of the Everyman at 6pm. ¶ Booking essential on www.everymancork.com

31

18 The Glucksman University College Cork Open 10am to 5pm. Full wheelchair access to public areas

The Glucksman provides a cultural and artistic centre on the University College Cork campus. Named after one of its founding donors, the businessman and philanthropist Lewis Glucksman, the gallery was inaugurated by President Mary McAleese on 13 October 2004. Located at UCC’s main entrance gates, the building includes display spaces, lecture facilities, a riverside café and gallery shop. The gallery links the campus to the wider community and has become an important civic space in Cork. Designed by the architectural firm of O’Donnell and Twomey, the Glucksman has won numerous awards, including the RIAI Best Public Building in Ireland in 2005, the RIBA 2005 Award (Europe), and the Sustainable Energy Ireland Award. It was shortlisted for the Stirling Prize in 2005 and has been named ‘One of the 1001 Buildings to See Before You Die’. Curatorial Tour of Selected Works: UCC Art Collection. Join Meadhbh Healy, Albers Curator of Collections + Public Engagement, for a guided tour of Selected Works: UCC Art Collection at 12pm. No specialist knowledge is required. The tour will run for approximately 45 minutes and will be followed by time for discussion. ¶ Booking essential on 021 4901844 / education@glucksman.org

32

19 Triskel Christchurch Christ Church, South Main Street Guided tour at 3pm. Partial wheelchair access Christchurch is located on South Main Street, once the main street of medieval Cork. The present-day church sits on the site of two previous churches, the first dating from around 1050 AD, the second an Anglo- Norman Structure dating from around 1180 AD. Present day Christchurch is an 18th century neoclassical Georgian building (1720) designed by architect John Coltsman with later renovations carried out by George Richard Pain in 1825. Christchurch was the main civic church of the city from the mid- 17th to the mid-19th century and was the burial place of some of the chief citizens of Medieval Cork. The best-known tombstone within Christchurch is that of “The Modest Man”, which was dedicated to twice Mayor of Cork Thomas Ronan (d. 1554). It is visible near the Stone Stairs of Christchurch. Triskel Arts Centre invites you to take part in a guided tour of Triskel Christchurch at 3pm. The tour will last approximately one hour and No booking required.

33

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8 Page 9 Page 10 Page 11 Page 12 Page 13 Page 14 Page 15 Page 16 Page 17 Page 18 Page 19 Page 20 Page 21 Page 22 Page 23 Page 24 Page 25 Page 26 Page 27 Page 28 Page 29 Page 30 Page 31 Page 32 Page 33 Page 34 Page 35 Page 36 Page 37 Page 38 Page 39 Page 40 Page 41 Page 42 Page 43 Page 44 Page 45 Page 46 Page 47 Page 48 Page 49 Page 50 Page 51 Page 52 Page 53 Page 54 Page 55 Page 56 Page 57 Page 58 Page 59 Page 60 Page 61 Page 62 Page 63 Page 64 Page 65 Page 66 Page 67 Page 68-69 Page 70

www.corkcity.ie

Powered by